the working journalist

‘The Working Journalist’ is  both the name of a journalism subject at La Trobe University, and of a project designed to take us into the worlds of a diverse range of journalists.

The subject, which is part of La Trobe University’s Master of Global Communications degree, explores the working life of journalists at a time when media industries are going through a massive transformation. We hope that focusing on how journalists are dealing with these challenges will help illuminate some of the ways that journalism itself is evolving.

We’re also keen to hear from any journalist who would like to be profiled as part of this project. If this sounds like you, please email us.

2013 profiles (with more to come over the next few weeks)

Nicholas Jones, editor-in-chief of Tone Deaf.

Eddie Summerfield, rural radio news journalist

Sotiris Hatzimanolis, editor of Neos Kosmos

2012 profiles

Tom Maclean, broadcast journalist at Win News Albury Wodonga.

Chalpat Sonti, editor of The Seymour Telegraph

Alex Burchill, entertainment reporter (ahem!) for The Sunday Sun

Zoe Daniel, ABC foreign correspondent

Carrie Hutchinson, freelance journalist

Stephen Rice, broadcast journalist at Radio Australia

Anita Barraud, producer at Radio National

David Davotovic, Herald Sun football writer

Andy Maher, sports journalist and presenter of SEN’s Morning GloryFOX sports FC, and TEN’s Before the Game

Tom Cowie, journalist for The Power Index

Rodney Croome, columnist for Gay News Network

Leigh Rogers, sports journalist at The Wimmera Mail Times

Tom Hyland, international editor at The Sunday Age

Michelle Griffin, journalist at The Age

Paula Maud, senior reporter at the Leader Newspaper Group 

Steve Kelly, editor at the Warrnambool Standard

Caroline Overington, staff writer for the Weekend Australian Magazine


2011 profiles included:

Thom Cookes, journalist at ANN’s Newsline

Matt Clinch, sport commentator at ABC Adelaide

Kerri Ritchie, ABC journalist

Farah Farouque, senior writer at The Age

Antony Funnell, presenter of ABC Radio National’s ‘Future Tense’

Aris S. Queen, American writer and broadcaster

Matt Taibbi, Rolling Stone political reporter

Jaymz Clements, music editor of Melbourne’s Beat magazine

Evan Schuurman, journalist at The Ballarat Courier

Aimee Vinci, journalist at The Whitsunday Times

Jason Whittaker, deputy editor at Crikey

Andrea Petrie, supreme court reporter at The Age

Charles Happell, editor of  BackPageLead

Jonathan Green, editor of ABC’s The Drum

Ella Ebery, editor of the St Arnaud North Central News

Alan Attwood, editor of The Big Issue

Our 2010 profiles included:

Amal Alvis – Sri Lankan TV journalist and producer

Kimberley Nichols – beyondblue communications officer

Alex Wake – RMIT Journalism lecturer and journalist

Paul Kennedy – ABC News Breakfast sports reporter

And here are some of our first batch of profiles from our class of 2009:

Rob BurgessBusiness Spectator

Auskar Surbakti – SBS

Cathy Anderson – MX

Nick Richardson – Leader Newspapers

Erdem Koc – SBS Radio

Dinesh Malhotra – Editor, The Bharat Times

Wayne Quilliam – photojournalist

Bruce Hill – Radio Australia journalist

Lee Mylne – travel writer