Close this search box.

upstart’s Grand Final broadcast success

A dedicated team of journalism and media students at La Trobe University broadcast a live television program during the 2013 AFL Grand Final.

The team of 20 students produced and presented the program from the professional television studios at La Trobe University, which was streamed on the upstart homepage from 1.30pm on Grand Final day.

“It was a polished production from those carrying out on-screen positions to those co-ordinating production in the background,” says Dr Christopher Scanlon, the production and managing editor of upstart.

[oqeygallery id=63]


The coverage began with a detailed discussion of the 2013 season, including the controversial Essendon supplement saga and an eye to the future as well, with a look at what’s expected in 2014.

We also got to hear from ABC sports broadcaster Gerard Whateley. You can watch the extended version of the interview here.




During the game, the team had some time off to enjoy the footy, but were back on during each break analysing the game as the Hawks charged through to be crowned the 2013 premiers.

We also crossed live to La Trobe University journalism graduate and media manager of the Eastern Football League, Ben Waterworth, who was at the MCG.

“It was a sensational experience for our students,” says journalism lecturer and upstart executive editor Erdem Koç.

“The fact that they produced and presented a live television program in real time, under real pressure, and were able to pull it off near-flawlessly really shows the quality of the practice-based teaching approach we adopt at La Trobe.”

The broadcast also received some publicity on 774 ABC Melbourne, with Hillary Harper interviewing second-year sports journalism student Sean Munaweera, who hosted the coverage.

Sean Munaweera on 774 talks upstart magazine’s AFL Grand Final broadcast by Upstart_Magazine on Mixcloud

A huge congratulations to the presenters, Sean Munaweera, Lachlan McKenna, John Pyrros and Matt Walsh, as well as the very talented production team, Ingrid Vaughan, Ash Shenker, Ivana Krsteska, Chris Mullarvey, Jake Stevens, Callum Warren-Smith, Ben Schmitt, Christina Brasacchio, Olivia Whyte, Adria de Fazio and Paddy Naughtin.

And a special thanks to Ian Armet, Jess Baker, Matt Horne, Margaret Purdam and Marcus De Rijk, as well as journalism academics Steinar Ellingsen, David Lowden and Erdem Koç, and media academic Angie Black.

Related Articles

Editor's Picks