Close this search box.

Hynes wins the Dally M after a stellar year

The winners from NRL's night of nights.

Cronulla Sharks halfback Nicho Hynes has won the 2022 Dally M Medal, becoming the first Sharks player to win the award since Preston Campbell in 2001.

Hynes finished the night with a record 38 votes, having the award secured with two rounds remaining.

In his first season at the Sharks, the ex-Storm player helped Cronulla to their first top four finish since 2018, only missing one game for the season.

Sydney Roosters captain James Tedesco finished in second with 33 votes, while medal favourite Ben Hunt finished third with 32 votes, despite a strong start.

The Dally M medal capped off a stellar night for Hynes. He took home the Provan-Summons Medal for speaking up about the death of former Cowboys coach Paul Green, and was named the Halfback of the Year.

Tedesco was also named in the Team of the Year, however podium partner Ben Hunt was one of the key omissions in the side. The Roosters and the Penrith Panthers had the most selections with three apiece.

In the NRLW, Roosters halfback Raecene McGregor took out the women’s Dally M, creating an unassailable lead with one round remaining.

McGregor says that she was ecstatic to receive the award, despite tough competition.

“I’m really honoured to get this award, there’s so many girls out there that definitely deserve this award – so I’m just really grateful to receive it, so thank you guys very much,” she said.

She too was named as the Halfback of the Year, headlining a plethora of Roosters players that made the side.

Six Roosters players were named, including Captain of the Year Isabelle Kelly and 2019 Dally M winner Jessica Sergis.

Award winners:

NRL Dally M: Nicho Hynes (Sharks)

NRLW Daly M: Raecene McGregor (Roosters)

Men’s Team of the Year: James Tedesco (Roosters), Joseph Suaalii (Roosters), Alex Johnston (Rabbitohs), Valentine Holmes (Cowboys), Joseph Manu (Roosters), Valentine Holmes (Cowboys), Cameron Munster (Storm), Nicho Hynes (Sharks), Payne Haas (Broncos), Joseph Tapine (Raiders), Apisai Koroisau (Panthers), Viliame Kikau (Panthers), Jeremiah Nanai (Cowboys), Isaah Yeo (Panthers)

Women’s Team of the Year: Sam Bremner (Roosters), Teagan Berry (Dragons), Jaime Chapman (Broncos), Isabelle Kelly (Roosters), Jessica Sergis (Roosters), Tarryn Aiken (Broncos), Raecene McGregor (Roosters), Caitlan Johnston (Knights), Millie Boyle (Knights), Keeley Davis (Dragons), Keilee Joseph (Roosters), Olivia Kernick (Roosters), Simaima Taufa (Eels)

Men’s Rookie of the Year: Jeremiah Nanai (Cowboys)

Women’s Rookie of the Year: Jesse Southwell (Knights)

Provan-Summons award (Men): Nicho Hynes (Sharks)

Provan-Summons award (Women): Toni Hunt (Broncos)

Men’s Captain of the Year: Isaah Yeo (Panthers)

Women’s Captain of the Year: Isabelle Kelly (Roosters)

Men’s Coach of the Year: Todd Payten (Cowboys)

Women’s Coach of the Year: John Strange (Roosters)

PHOTO: This photo of a rugby ball is available HERE and is used under a Creative Commons licence. This photo has not been modified.

Share this post:

Related Articles

Editor's Picks