Close this search box.

Queensland moves to ban Nazi symbols

The new bill is being introduced to parliament today

Nazi symbols are to be banned in Queensland under proposed laws that will be introduced in state parliament today.

The introduced bill will ban public displays of hate symbols, including the swastika and other Nazi symbols, and will set in motion harsher penalties for discriminatory crimes.

Queensland Premier Annastacia Palaszczuk announced the proposal today via Twitter with an image that states new laws will “ban Nazi hate symbols”.

“There is no place in our state for evil hateful ideologies – Queensland is better than that,” she wrote.

Queensland’s Attorney-General Shannon Fentiman confirmed that pre-existing offences will be modified to criminalise prejudiced motivations.

“Serious offences, if that offence say of grievous bodily harm or serious assault or public nuisance is partly or wholly motivated by hatred, there will be a statutory circumstance of aggravation,” she said.

Tattoos, flags, signs and merchandise displaying hate symbols will be prohibited and public distribution and publication of these symbols online will also be banned.

However, exceptions will be given to Buddhists, Hindus and Jains for whom swastikas are considered a religious symbol.

The CEO of Multicultural Australia Christine Castley said she was “relieved” by the proposed reform.

“The laws will enhance the safety of every person and every community in Queensland, especially for those culturally and linguistically diverse communities who all too often face harassment as they go about their lives in public spaces and places of worship,” she said.

“We will continue to amplify the voices of affected communities and individuals, and work with the Queensland government and response agencies such as the Queensland police to improve awareness and reporting of hate crimes.”

The proposal comes after three Queensland men were charged in January with damage offences as police confiscated banners with Nazi symbols and the words “Hitler was right”.

Nazi symbols have been banned in both Victoria and New South Wales. Victoria recently introduced a ban of the Nazi salute after neo-Nazis performed it at an anti-trans protest.

Western Australia and Tasmania governments have also released statements on prohibiting Nazi symbols.



No Hate by Tim Pierce available HERE and used under a Creative Commons license. This image has not been modified.

Related Articles

Editor's Picks